The Magic beans of Little Things

                                        Dear  Tensed you,

                                                          You are amazing. We are your pixie dust!

                                                                                                                Happily yours,

                                                                                                                                  Little things.

13076698_992311130837499_5949350195909634111_n

Today when I was making tea, our help’s daughter, 3 years of age, was sitting on the kitchen platform and observing. I was trying to instill some interest in her by doing some silly things, but she was not really interested in having fun with me. I could not capture her interest in any way. And just when I stopped trying something happened. She could not take her eyes off from the stove. She was observing the tea boiling to the brim and going down as I rotated the stove controls. I could see her eyes flickering from the boiling tea as I increased the temperature and going down as I rotated the control in the opposite direction. And finally I saw that smile of wonderment on her face which made my day.

I was facing a tough day, from doubting my decisions in life to “what a shitty life this is” thoughts. It has been raining and despite being a pluviophile, I was more absorbed in how horrendous my life has turned out to be, because of my own decisions. And this incident made me realize how easy it is to find joys in things as simple as a pot of boiling tea.

There have been lot of blogs and gyaan about living your life and searching for happiness in little things. But frankly when you are facing with grave problems you tend to sidetrack the little things in life. Who enjoys the weather when you have a flat tire on your way to an important meeting on which your yearly appraisal depends? I am no different. Amidst all the chaos happening in my life, I ignored the drops of rain dancing on my nose, the breeze playing with my hair, the book lying in my lap, the coffee waiting to be sipped and the aroma of the food my mother was cooking.

The kid made me realize how adulterated our living has become. We become occupied in such herculean task that we fail to notice the little things that help us drive through the day. Why do we feel immense pleasure when we go through school memories? Because those were our pure selves where we worried about which tiffin to eat before the lunch bell goes. Do you think we were not worried at that point of time? Of course we were. We had our own big issues even then. You know like, polishing the white PT  shoes, or applying hair oil, or standing out of the class without our best friend, or getting a low scored test signed by our parents.

Problems don’t cease to exist, be it small or big, a problem will always cause an itch. Solutions may be round the corner, or they may not be there even at the bend of the road, but we owe happiness to our life. We have struggled through running noses, PT sessions, late night assignments, teenage heart breaks, bruised knees and what not. We owe ourselves love and bliss.

Look around! The world is waiting to serve you. Because my girl, you deserve it.

You deserve every breath you are taking.

Leave a comment